Home > Ergonomics > Work involving use of a computer screen

Work involving use of a computer screen

In the tertiary sector, the ongoing process of modernisation of computer technologies generates constant changes and adjustments to habits, operational procedures and layout of both workplaces and equipment. Operation of a computer which requires regular use of the display screen has become commonplace at a majority of workplaces.
That being so, it is important to consider potential risks associated with the workspaces from the outset when they are designed. The layout of the workspace must be a synthesis of given ergonomic responses to the different work criteria involved and must focus on the overall idea of wellbeing of the operator during the performance of his / her tasks. These different issues will be dealt with in more detail below:• 

  • organisation of the space as a function of the work performed;
  • configuration of the work surface and technical equipment;
  • working environment, such as lighting and ambient climate.

Work at a visual display screen is covered by a Grand Ducal regulation published on 4 November 1994 concerning minimum safety and health provisions relating to work at visual display screens. This regulation contains in its annex minimum provisions on which the layout of every workplace using a display screen must be based.

Workspace

The operator at a workplace using a display screen forms part of a complex work system. It is essential to make sure that his workspace layout, as well as the disposition and configuration of his working tools give him the possibility of varying his working postures to meet his individual needs.
The laxist interpretation of basic ergonomic rules can in fact lead to excessive strains on eyesight and on the muscular and skeletal system of the operator. This phenomenon then gives rise to visual fatigue and muscular contractions, especially at the level of the neck, shoulders and back.

To counteract possible excessive strains, some practical advice is given below:

1. Eyesight

  • rest your eyes by regularly interrupting work at the screen: pauses lasting for just 5 minutes are already very beneficial to the eyes. These pauses may be used to change over to a different type of activity, for instance use of the telephone, looking out through the window or across the office;
  • install your computer in such a way that the visual distance between you and the screen is between 50 and 80 cm with the upper edge of the screen not placed above the level of your eyes;
  • avoid reflections and dazzle by closing the sun blinds etc. provided for your use on sunny days;
  • avoid flashes on your screen by keeping lamps and other electrical appliances some distance away;
  • avoid the use of a dark background on your screen. Use of a light background with dark characters is preferable;
  • do not use too many colours. Do not use more than 3 different colours on the screen, background colours and characters included;
  • make sure to maintain uniform lighting at your workplace.

2. muscular-skeletal system

  • leave a space of 10 to 15 cm in front of your keyboard to rest your hands and forearms;
  • regularly change your posture and use every opportunity to stand and move around the office;
  • avoid tense and non-physiological postures. Do not turn your head sideways towards the screen while using the keyboard placed immediately in front of you; do not unnecessarily place objects in the space available for your legs (for instance waste paper basket, bags etc.);
  • make sure that the seat is adjusted to suit your work surface and height;
  • make sure that the depth of the space behind your work station is not less than 100 cm

At present, the design of office furniture is increasingly tending to use modular and adjustable elements which allow operators to change their posture within a widely variable range.

Work surface

The Grand Ducal regulation of 4 November 1994 setting out minimum safety and health requirements for work on visual display units stipulates that:

  • the table or work surface must limit reflections to a minimum;
  • the size of the work surface must be adequate to allow a flexible arrangement of the screen, keyboard, documents and accessory items.

To implement these criteria for the dimensions of the work surface, a calculation of the net surface will be made depending on the activities of the worker and the office equipment available for the performance of his/her work.

Dimension of the work surface

As a general rule, in order to comply with the provisions of the Grand Ducal regulation the work surface used for work on computer screen must have a minimum width of 160 cm and a minimum depth of 80 cm.
In recent years, flat screens have systematically replaced cathode ray screens which used to take up a great deal of space at the workplace because of their volume and size. In the days of cathode ray tubes, work surface depths of 80 cm were inadequate but today they are perfectly sufficient.

Height of the work surface

A general distinction is made between:

  • A fixed work surface

Scientific studies show that a work surface height of 75 cm for an activity in the seated posture is suitable for a great majority of the active population. If we deduct the average 3 cm thickness of a keyboard, the working height for an activity involving the entry of data into a computer is 72 cm. Today work surfaces are adjusted automatically to that height unless specially requested otherwise. 
Nowadays every worktable is fitted with a rack and pinion system which permits the height to be adjusted to needs of the user and possible irregularities in the floor level to be compensated when the equipment is installed. The fixed heights of these work surfaces range from 68 cm to 75 cm.

  • A vertically adjustable work surface

People used to work standing up. Nowadays, a seated posture is generally adopted. This is only an apparent improvement because the human body is not designed to be seated all day. Employees in the tertiary sector often suffer from muscular and skeletal problems. To remedy those problems it is appropriate to change position from time to time, i.e. to work in a seated, seated-standing or standing posture. The first requirement placed on the work surface is adequate provision for vertical adjustment which should fall within a range of around 65cm to 130 cm.

Surface of the work top

The surface of the work top must be free from reflections. The work top must have a mat finish and colour such that excessive contrasts with different component parts of the work station and its environment are avoided. The work surface must have no sharp edges or projecting angles.

Office chair

The Grand Ducal regulation of 4 November 1994 setting out minimum safety and health provisions for work at visual display screens stipulates that the office chair must

  • be stable;
  • allow the user freedom of movement;
  • assure a comfortable position for the user;
  • be vertically adjustable;
  • have a back rest with adjustable height and angle.

Apart from these elementary characteristics, some additional features can add ergonomic value to an office chair:

  • the 5 branch pedestal should be fitted with castors suited to the quality of the floor covering so as to permit free movement of the chair;
  • the back rest should be fitted with a vertically adjustable lumbar support;
  • the upper line of the chair backrest should correspond to the middle of the shoulder of its user;
  • if armrests are provided, their height, width and direction must be adjustable; the seat front should be padded and curved;
  • the depth of the seat should be adjustable;
  • the seat should be fitted with a synchronous adjustment system;
  • the individual settings of the seat must be explained to its user.

Footrest

Persons of small height who use a fixed work surface or a work surface with limited vertical adjustment possibilities often find it hard to adopt a correct position for the legs and feet. They cannot touch the floor while keeping the thigh and leg at a right angle. In such cases, a footrest must be provided.
A footrest adapted to the working system must have the following characteristics:

  • height adjustable to 11 cm above the floor;
  • inclination of the platform between 5° and 15°;
  • minimum width 45 cm
  • minimum depth 35 cm;
  • non-slip surface.

Input peripherals

Screens

Nowadays, the visual display screen is an integral part of the working equipment. It must be directional and inclinable to suit the user. Cathode ray screens are being systematically replaced by flat liquid crystal screens. Available firstly in a single colour and in small sizes these were used for pocket calculators and watches because of their low power consumption. Nowadays, they enable colours to be displayed in dimensions which may exceed a diagonal width of 1 metre. They have replaced cathode ray tubes for most applications except for very high definition when the colour range must be precise and faithful, and also in difficult environments.
Liquid crystal displays have several advantages over cathode ray screens:

  • absence of radiation although the electrical magnetic fields emitted by cathode ray screens are minimal and present no danger to the health of their users;
  • LCD screens have the advantage that they emit practically no electro-magnetic waves;
  • they are less cumbersome ;
  • they emit less heat, which makes their use a very attractive proposition, especially in landscaped offices.

The choice of the screen location in relation to the position of its user plays a vital role in the ergonomic layout of the workplace. The following criteria must be respected:

  • the screen must be placed in the central line of sight in front of the operator;
  • the location of the screen will be chosen in such a way that it is positioned between two rows of lighting;
  • the axis of the operator’s sight must be parallel to the windows;
  • the distance between the operator’s eyes and the screen must be 50 cm to 80 cm;
  • the first readable line of the screen must not be above the height of the operator’s eyes. As the physiological line of sight is directed slightly downwards, the orientation of the screen must follow the movement to avoid placing any unnecessary strain on the eyes.

Keyboard and mouse

The keyboard and mouse are the principal data input peripherals. The law stipulates that the workplace using the visual display screen must be fitted with a mobile keyboard which is separate from the screen. This enables at one and the same time the distance of vision to be adjusted to assure visual comfort, while the location of the keyboard can be altered to suit the working procedures.

The space in front of the keyboard must be sufficient to rest the hands when no writing is being performed.
The keyboard must be angled.
The keyboard symbols must be easy to read and free from reflections.

The typing posture at the keyboard must create the least possible stress.

Software

It is important to inform the users that they can adjust a number of parameters themselves, such as the size of the characters, contrast, clarity, background colours…
The use of colours in software should preferably be kept to a minimum. Some colours are incompatible: because of different wavelengths, they are perceived in relief mode.
Do not forget that good training is worth its weight in gold in information technology and will enable users to save a great deal of time.

Working tools

The working tools must be located at positions which are freely accessible within the radius of the forearm and in the logical direction of their use (for example, telephone positioned on the right).
Depending on the work to be done, the tools will be laid out differently. For example, for straightforward data input work it is easier to place the document on a document holder arranged to one side of the screen.

Prevention

Breaks must be used to stand up and walk for a few steps to relax the static muscles. It is also important to look up towards the horizon to change the accommodation of the eyes and to open the windows to let more oxygen into the room.
As far as prevention is concerned, a visit to the occupational physician will enable eyesight problems that may have been undetected previously to be diagnosed or unsuitable spectacles replaced.

Ambient factors

Office lighting is a vital feature of good ergonomics: low luminance lamps, adequate lighting intensity, secondary lamps, non-reflective furniture, blinds in front of the windows … are all factors which facilitate work at a visual display screen.
The office temperature should ideally be around 20°C. Relative humidity should be in the region of 40%, but that figure is seldom reached because air conditioned air is generally drier.
The quality of the air has been substantially improved since smoking in offices has been prohibited. Tobacco is the No. 1 indoor pollutant. Photocopiers and printers must also be placed elsewhere for the same reason.

Accueil > Ergonomie > Der Bildschirmarbeitsplatz

Der Bildschirmarbeitsplatz

Im Dienstleistungssektor bewirkt die fortwährende Modernisierung der Informationstechnologien eine ständige Veränderung der Gewohnheiten, der Betriebsabläufe und der Gestaltung der Arbeitsumgebung und der Arbeitsmittel. Die Verwendung eines Computers, und die damit einhergehende regelmäßige Benutzung eines Bildschirms, sind für die Mehrzahl der Arbeitsplätze Normalität.
Es ist daher wichtig, bereits bei der Planung der Arbeitsbereiche an die potenziellen Gefahren zu denken, die mit diesen Arbeitsplätzen verbunden sein können. Alle ergonomischen Antworten auf die mit dem jeweiligen Posten verbundenen Anforderungen müssen in die Gestaltung des Arbeitsbereichs mit einfließen. Das ganze Konzept sollte auf das allgemeine Wohlbefinden des arbeitenden Menschen ausgerichtet sein.

Wir werden im Folgenden genauer auf folgende Themen eingehen:

  • Gestaltung des Arbeitsbereichs in Abhängigkeit von der jeweiligen Tätigkeit 
  • Anordnung der Arbeitsfläche und der technischen Hilfsgeräte
  • Arbeitsumgebung im Hinblick auf die Beleuchtung und das Raumklima

Die Bildschirmarbeit ist Gegenstand der großherzoglichen Verordnung vom 4. November 1994 über die Mindestvorschriften bezüglich der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes bei der Arbeit an Bildschirmgeräten. Im Anhang dieser Verordnung werden die Mindestanforderungen festgelegt, die bei der Gestaltung von Bildschirmarbeitsplätzen zu berücksichtigen sind. 

ARBEITSBEREICH 

Der Bildschirmarbeiter ist Teil eines komplexen Arbeitssystems. Es ist wichtig, darauf zu achten, dass sein Arbeitsbereich, die Gestaltung, Anordnung und Einstellung seiner Arbeitsinstrumente ihm die Möglichkeit lassen, seine Haltung bei der Arbeit immer wieder zu verändern und an seine individuellen Bedürfnisse anzupassen. 
Ein lascher Umgang mit den Grundregeln der Ergonomie kann zu einer übermäßigen Beanspruchung der Sehfähigkeit und des Muskel-Skelett-Apparates dieses Arbeiters führen, die sich durch Sehmüdigkeit und Muskelverspannungen, insbesondere im Nacken-, Schulter- und Rückenbereich ausdrückt.

Hier einige praktische Tipps, um diesen möglichen Überlastungen entgegenzuwirken: 

1. Sehapparat

  • Gönnen Sie Ihren Augen eine Ruhepause, indem Sie die Arbeit am Bildschirm regelmäßig unterbrechen: selbst kleine Pausen von 5 Minuten tun den Augen schon richtig gut. Diese Pausen können für andere Arbeitstätigkeiten genutzt werden: Erledigen Sie Ihre Telefongespräche, indem Sie z.B. nach draußen oder in den hintersten Teil Ihres Büros blicken;
  • Stellen Sie Ihren Computer so auf, dass der Sehabstand zwischen Ihnen und dem Computer 50 bis 80 cm beträgt und dass der obere Bildschirmrand nicht über Ihrer Augenhöhe liegt;
  • Spiegelungen und Blendungen können dadurch vermieden werden, dass an sonnigen Tagen die vorgesehenen Lichtschutzvorrichtungen benutzt werden;
  • Vermeiden Sie Bildschirmflimmern, indem Sie Leuchten und anderes elektrisch geladene Material fern halten;
  • Vermeiden Sie dunkle Hintergrundfarben. Besser ist ein heller Hintergrund und dunkle Schriftzeichenfarben;
  • Achten Sie darauf, nicht zu viele Farben zu benutzen. Verwenden Sie nicht mehr als 3 verschiedene Farben auf dem Bildschirm, Hintergrundfarben und Schriftzeichenfarben einbegriffen;
  • Sorgen Sie für eine ausgewogene Beleuchtung Ihres Arbeitsplatzes.

2. Muskel-Skelett-Apparat

  • Halten Sie vor dem Bildschirm eine Fläche von 10 bis 15 cm frei, damit Hände und Unterarme ruhen können;
  • Verändern Sie regelmäßig Ihre Haltung und nutzen Sie alle Gelegenheiten um aufzustehen und sich in Ihrem Büro zu bewegen;
  • Vermeiden Sie verkrampfte und physiologisch ungünstige Haltungen. Vermeiden Sie es, den Kopf seitwärts zum Bildschirm drehen zu müssen, während die Tastatur gerade vor Ihnen liegt, versperren Sie den Freiraum für Ihre Beine nicht mit unnützen Gegenständen zu (z.B. Papierkorb, Handtasche usw.)
  • Achten Sie darauf, dass Ihr Bürostuhl richtig an Ihren Arbeitstisch und an Ihre Größe angepasst ist.
  • Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie hinter Ihrem Arbeitsplatz über einen Freiraum verfügen, der mindestens 100 cm tief ist.

Moderne Büroausstattungen setzen heute immer mehr auf verstellbare, modulare Elemente, die ein häufiges Wechseln der Arbeitsposition ermöglichen.

ARBEITSFLÄCHE

Die großherzogliche Verordnung vom 4. November 1994 über die Mindestvorschriften bezüglich der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes bei der Arbeit an Bildschirmgeräten sieht folgende Mindestanforderungen vor:

  • der Arbeitstisch oder die Arbeitsfläche müssen reflexionsarm sein,
  • die Arbeitsfläche muss ausreichend groß sein und eine flexible Anordnung des Bildschirms, der Tastatur, der Dokumente und der sonstigen Arbeitsmittel ermöglichen.

Um diese Anforderungen bezüglich der Größe der Arbeitsfläche umzusetzen, wird die Nettofläche in Abhängigkeit von der jeweiligen Tätigkeit des Arbeitnehmers und des Büromaterials, das er für die Verrichtung seiner Arbeit benötigt, berechnet. 

Größe der Arbeitsfläche

Allgemein und um den Vorschriften der großherzoglichen Verordnung Rechnung zu tragen, sollte die Arbeitsfläche eines Bildschirmarbeitsplatzes mindestens 160 cm breit und mindestens 80 cm tief sein. 
In den letzten Jahren wurden die Kathodenbildschirme, die durch ihre Größe und ihr Volumen viel Platz einnahmen, systematisch durch Flachbildschirme ersetzt. So sind heute Arbeitsflächen von 80 cm, die bei den Kathodenbildschirmen noch unzureichend waren, heute durchaus angemessen.

Höhe der Arbeitsfläche

Generell unterscheidet man zwischen: 

  • unverstellbaren Arbeitsflächen

Wissenschaftliche Studien haben erwiesen, dass bei Sitzarbeitsplätzen eine Höhe von 75 cm für die Arbeitsfläche für einen Großteil der Arbeitnehmerschaft angemessen ist. Zieht man die durchschnittliche Tastaturhöhe von 3 cm ab, so verbleibt für Computertätigkeiten eine Höhe von 72 cm. Heutzutage ist die Höhe der Arbeitsfläche, außer auf Sonderanfrage, fabrikmäßig auf 72 cm eingestellt. 

Des Weiteren sind heute alle Arbeitstische mit Zahnradsystemen ausgestattet, durch die sie in der Höhe an die Bedürfnisse ihres Benutzers sowie auch an eventuelle Bodenunebenheiten angepasst werden können. Die festen Höhen dieser Arbeitsflächen liegen zwischen 68 cm und 75 cm.

  • höhenverstellbaren Arbeitsflächen

Früher wurde im Stehen gearbeitet. Heute überwiegen dagegen Arbeiten in sitzender Position. Eine nur scheinbare Verbesserung, denn unser Körper ist nicht dafür geschaffen, den ganzen Tag über zu sitzen. Im Dienstleistungsbereich leiden Arbeitnehmer daher oft unter Muskel-Skelett-Erkrankungen. Um diesen entgegenzuwirken, sollte die Haltung bei der Arbeit oft verändert werden, d.h. man sollte seine Arbeit abwechselnd im Sitzen und im Stehen verrichten. Die Hauptanforderung an die Arbeitsfläche ist dabei eine angemessene Höhenregelung, die zwischen 65 cm und 130 cm liegen sollte.

Oberfläche der Arbeitstische

Diese Oberfläche muss reflexionsfrei sein. Die Arbeitsfläche sollte matt sein und auf zu starke Kontraste mit den anderen Bestandteilen des Arbeitsplatzes und der Arbeitsumgebung verzichten. Des Weiteren dürfen keine scharfen Kanten oder Ecken vorhanden sein. 

BÜROSTUHL

Die großherzogliche Verordnung vom 4. November 1994 über die Mindestvorschriften bezüglich der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes bei der Arbeit an Bildschirmgeräten legt in ihren Mindestanforderungen fest, dass der Bürostuhl: 

  • standfest sein muss
  • dem Benutzer ausreichend Bewegungsfreiheit einräumen muss
  • dem Benutzer eine komfortable Sitzhaltung ermöglichen muss
  • höhenverstellbar sein muss
  • über eine Rückenlehne verfügen muss, die sowohl höhenverstellbar als auch neigbar ist

Sofern diese Grundbedingungen erfüllt sind, kann der ergonomische Wert von Bürostühlen durch einige Zusatzvorrichtungen noch verbessert werden:

  • das fünfarmige Fußkreuz ist mit Stuhlrollen ausgestattet, die an die Beschaffenheit des Fußbodenbelags angepasst sind, um die Beweglichkeit des Stuhl sicherzustellen
  • die Rückenlehne verfügt über eine höhenverstellbare Bandscheibenstütze
  • die obere Kante der Rückenlehne befindet sich in der Mitte des Schulterblattes ihres Benutzers
  • falls Armlehnen verfügbar sind, sind diese sowohl in der Höhe als auch im Abstand zueinander und in der Richtung verstellbar, ihr Ende ist gepolstert und abgerundet
  • die Sitztiefe ist verstellbar
  • der Stuhl verfügt über ein Synchron-Einstellungssystem
  • der Stuhlbenutzer wird mit den individuellen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten seines Stuhls vertraut gemacht

FUßSTÜTZE

Kleinere Menschen, die an einem nicht verstellbaren oder an einem begrenzt höhenverstellbaren Arbeitstisch arbeiten, finden es oft schwierig, eine korrekte Haltung für Beine und Füße zu finden. Sie schaffen es nicht, den Boden zu berühren und gleichzeitig Ober- und Unterschenkel in einem rechten Winkel zu halten. In diesem Fall muss eine Fußstütze zur Verfügung gestellt werden. 
Eine an das Arbeitssystem angepasste Fußstütze sollte folgende Merkmale aufweisen:

  • die Fußstütze muss bis mindestens 11 cm über dem Fußboden verstellbar sein• die Oberfläche muss zwischen 5°und 15° neigbar sein
  • Mindestbreite 45 cm 
  • Mindesttiefe 35 cm
  • rutschfeste Oberfläche

EINGABEGERÄTE

Bildschirm

Der Bildschirm ist heute fester Bestandteil der Arbeitsausstattung. Er sollte dreh- und neigbar sein, um sich an die Bedürfnisse des Benutzers anzupassen. Heutzutage werden die alten Kathodenbildschirme systematisch durch Flüssigkristall-Flachschirme ersetzt. Diese waren zunächst nur monochrom und von kleinem Format und wurden aufgrund ihres geringen Energieverbrauchs oft bei Taschenrechnern und Uhren eingesetzt; heute können zahllose Farben angezeigt werden und die Größe schon mal über einen Meter Bilddiagonale hinausgehen. In den meisten Anwendungen hat er die Kathodenschirme verdrängt, außer bei einer hohen Bildschirmauflösung, wenn die Farbpalette ganz präzise und genau sein muss, oder in schwierigen Umgebungen.
Flüssigkristall-Bildschirme (Liquid Crystal Display, LCD) weisen im Vergleich zu den Kathodenbildschirmen gleich mehrere Vorteile auf:

  • keine Strahlungen: Obwohl die von Kathoden-Schirmen ausgehenden elektromagnetischen Felder sehr gering und unbedenklich für die Gesundheit der Benutzer sind, haben LCD-Bildschirme den Vorteil, dass sie fast keine elektromagnetischen Emissionen abgeben.• platzsparend,
  • geringere Wärmeabgabe. Gerade diese Eigenschaft macht sie für Großraumbüros sehr interessant.

Die Wahl des Ortes, an dem der Bildschirm im Verhältnis zur Position des Benutzers aufgestellt wird, spielt bei der ergonomischen Gestaltung des Arbeitsplatzes eine fundamentale Rolle. Folgende Kriterien sind zu beachten:

  • der Bildschirm muss vor dem Benutzer in dessen zentraler Blickachse stehen
  • die Position des Bildschirms wird so ausgesucht, dass der Schirm zwischen zwei Leuchtbändern steht
  • die Blickachse verläuft parallel zu den Tageslichtquellen
  • der Sehabstand zwischen Benutzer und Schirm beträgt 50 bis 80 cm
  • die erste lesbare Zeile auf dem Bildschirm darf nicht über der Augenhöhe des Benutzers liegen. Da die physiologische Blickachse leicht nach unten tendiert, sollte der Bildschirm sich dieser Bewegung anpassen um den Sehapparat nicht unnötig zu belasten.

Tastatur und Maus

Tastatur und Maus sind die klassischen Eingabegeräte. Die gesetzlichen Regelungen sehen vor, dass Bildschirmarbeitsplätze mit einer beweglichen und vom Bildschirm getrennten Tastatur ausgestattet sein müssen. Dadurch kann der Sehabstand so eingestellt werden, dass er vom Nutzer als angenehm empfunden wird. Auch die Position der Tastatur kann so auf die Arbeitsprozesse abgestimmt werden.

  • Vor der Tastatur muss ausreichend Platz vorhanden sein, damit die Hände während der Schreibpausen abgelegt werden können.
  • Die Tastatur muss geneigt sein
  • Die Symbole auf den Tasten sind leicht lesbar und reflexionsfrei

Arbeitsprogramme

Die Benutzer müssen darauf hingewiesen werden, dass sie mehrere Parameter, wie beispielsweise Buchstabengröße, Kontrast, Helligkeit und Hintergrundfarben selbst einstellen können.
Was die Verwendung von Farben in den einzelnen Arbeitsprogrammen anbelangt, so gilt hier deutlich: Weniger ist mehr. Einige Farben sind auch untereinander nicht kompatibel: Aufgrund ihrer unterschiedlichen Wellenlängen werden sie als Relief wahrgenommen.
Eine gute EDV-Schulung ist da Gold wert und bedeutet für Benutzer eine deutliche Zeitersparnis!

Arbeitsutensilien

Die Arbeitsutensilien sollten so angeordnet sein, dass sie mit dem Unterarm leicht erreichbar sind. Außerdem sollten sie auf der logischen Seite aufgestellt sein (z.B. Telefon rechts).
Je nach Arbeitsanforderung müssen die Utensilien anders aufgestellt sein. Besteht die Arbeit beispielsweise in der reinen Datenerfassung, dann ist es leichter, das Dokument rechts neben dem Bildschirm auf einem Vorlagenhalter abzulegen.

Vorbeugung

Pausen sollten genutzt werden, um aufzustehen und einige Schritte hin und herzugehen um die statische Muskulatur zu entspannen. Genau so wichtig ist es, die Augen ab und zu in die Ferne schweifen zu lassen, um die Akkommodation zu verändern, und die Fenster zu öffnen, um den Raum zu lüften.
Im Bereich der Prävention kann ein Besuch beim Arbeitsmediziner helfen, bis dahin unerkannte Sehstörungen aufzudecken oder festzustellen, dass die Brillenstärke ungeeignet ist.

Umgebungsfaktoren

Die richtige Beleuchtung ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil eines ergonomischen Arbeitsplatzes: Leuchten mit niedriger Leuchtdichte, ausreichende Luxzahl, Schreibtischlampen, nicht reflektierendes Mobiliar, Rollos an den Fenstern…all dies sind augenschonende Maßnahmen, die sich lohnen.
Die Bürotemperatur sollte idealerweise um die 20°C liegen. Die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit sollte um die 40% liegen, wobei diese Zahl jedoch aufgrund der durch Klimaanlagen trockneren Luft selten erreicht wird.
Seit Rauchen in den Büros verboten ist, hat sich die Luftqualität deutlich verbessert, Tabak ist in Innenräumen der Luftverschmutzer Nummer 1. Auch Fotokopier- und Faxgeräte sollten aus diesem Grunde aus den Büroräumen verbannt werden.
In Bezug auf die Lärmbelastung geht man davon aus, dass konzentriertes Arbeiten einen Geräuschpegel von höchstens 55 dBA zulässt. Auch hier ist es von Vorteil, Fax- und Photokopiergerät und Drucker aus dem Büroraum zu entfernen. Die Telefone auf Mindestlautstärke einstellen und PC-Prozessoren unter den Arbeitstisch stellen sind weitere hilfreiche Tipps!