Home > Legislation > Occupational health service

Occupational health service

Law of 17 June 1994 on occupational safety and health

This law is designed to protect workers by organizing the provision of medical supervision and by the prevention of occupational accidents and illnesses. 
The occupational medicine services have a preventive role. They act as advisors to the employer on hygiene, ergonomics, health education and functional readaptation.
The occupational health physician is also called upon to monitor the various physical (temperature, humidity, air speed, noise) and chemical (air quality) factors in the working environment in order to identify and combat potential risks to the health of workers.
The occupational medicine physician reaches his conclusions in total professional independence. Under no circumstances may he verify whether absences on grounds of illness are justified. He may, however, see an employee who is absent from work with a view to preparing his subsequent return to work.
The examinations stipulated by law are:

the examination upon recruitment: this must take place within two months of recruitment with the exception of security posts, in which case the employee must be examined before taking up his duties. In the event of a change of employer to take up a similar post, the occupational physician may transfer the fitness record to the new employer without performing a recruitment examination;

  • regular examinations for employees 
  • below the age of 21
  • employees exposed to a risk of occupational illness
  • employees assigned to a post involving risks 
  • pupils and students working during the educational holidays, but only if they are assigned to a post involving risks.

Apart from these examinations, the occupational health physician may decide at the time of recruitment whether he considers it necessary to see the person concerned again at regular intervals.
The time required by the employee to attend for medical examinations counts as working time.
No examination may involve testing for AIDS.
Resumption of work after an absence for more than six weeks must be reported by the employer to the occupational health physician. The employer, the employee or the occupational health physician may then ask for an examination to be made before work is resumed.

After each examination, the occupational health physician will draw up a fitness report for the employee and employer. Medical secrecy must be stringently respected on this occasion. The employee and the employer have a right of appeal to the physician in charge of the Health Division within forty days of notification. There is no right of appeal in the case of recruitment examinations.

In the event of unfitness, if the employer regularly has more than 50 employees and the employee who was declared unfit for a post involving safety or a post involving risks has been employed for at least ten years by the company, he must be assigned to a new post which he is deemed to be fit to occupy. Beneficiaries of a change of post on grounds of unfitness are treated in the same way as handicapped workers for the purposes of the obligations stipulated in Article 5 of the amended Law of 12 November 1991 on Handicapped Workers.

Accueil > Gesetzgebung > Arbeitsmedizinischer Dienst

Arbeitsmedizinischer Dienst

Gesetz vom 17. Juni 1994 über die Sicherheit und Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer am Arbeitsplatz

Ziel dieses Gesetzes ist der Schutz der Arbeitnehmer durch die Sicherstelllung der medizinischen Überwachung sowie die Vermeidung von Arbeitsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten.
Die Aufgaben der arbeitsmedizinischen Dienste sind vorbeugender Natur. Sie stehen den Arbeitgebern beratend zur Seite, wenn es um Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Hygiene, Ergonomie, Gesundheitserziehung und körperlicher Rehabilitation geht.
Der Arbeitsmediziner wird ebenfalls für die Überwachung verschiedener physikalischer Faktoren (wie Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit, Luftgeschwindigkeit, Lärm) und chemischer Faktoren (wie die Luftqualität) der Arbeitsumgebung herangezogen, um etwaige Gesundheitsrisiken aufzudecken und zu bekämpfen.
Der Arbeitsmediziner urteilt in völliger beruflicher Unabhängigkeit. Er ist in keinem Fall dafür zuständig zu überprüfen, inwiefern Krankschreibungen berechtigt sind oder nicht. Er kann dagegen einen krankgeschriebenen Arbeitnehmer zu einem Termin bestellen, um dessen Wiederaufnahme seiner beruflichen Tätigkeit vorzubereiten.
Folgende Arztbesuche sind gesetzlich vorgesehen:

Die Einstellungsuntersuchung: Sie muss innerhalb von zwei Monaten nach der Einstellung stattfinden, außer bei Sicherheitsposten, deren Anwärter vor der Einstellung zu untersuchen sind. Bei einem Arbeitgeberwechsel kann der Arbeitsmediziner, sofern der Posten vergleichbar ist, den Tauglichkeitsbericht auf den neuen Arbeitgeber übertragen lassen, ohne dass eine Einstellungsuntersuchung notwendig wäre.

  • Periodische Untersuchungen bei den unter 21-Jährigen
  • Arbeiternehmern, die dem Risiko einer Berufskrankheit ausgesetzt sind
  • Arbeitnehmern, die auf einem Risikoarbeitsplatz beschäftigt sind
  • Während der Schulferien arbeitende Schüler und Studenten, sofern sie auf einem Risikoarbeitsplatz beschäftigt sind

Neben diesen Untersuchungen kann der Arbeitsmediziner bei der Einstellungsuntersuchung ebenfalls entscheiden, ob er es für notwendig erachtet, die betroffene Person in regelmäßigen Abständen zu untersuchen.
Die Zeit, die der Arbeitnehmer für diese Arztbesuche aufwendet, gilt als Arbeitszeit.
Keine der Untersuchungen darf einen AIDS-Test beinhalten.
Die Wiederaufnahme der Arbeit nach einer mehr als 6-wöchigen krankheitsbedingten Abwesenheit muss dem Arbeitsmediziner vom Arbeitgeber mitgeteilt werden. Der Arbeitgeber, der Arbeitnehmer oder aber der Arbeitsmediziner können dann eine Untersuchung vor der Wiederaufnahme der Arbeit beantragen.
Nach jeder Untersuchung erstellt der Arbeitsmediziner unter strengster Wahrung der ärztlichen Schweigepflicht einen Tauglichkeitsbericht, der für den Arbeitnehmer und dessen Arbeitgeber bestimmt ist. Beide besitzen während einer Frist von vierzig Tagen nach der Benachrichtigung ein Widerspruchsrecht beim Chefarzt der Abteilung für Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz. Bei Einstellungsuntersuchungen besteht kein Widerspruchsrecht.
Wird ein Arbeitnehmer, der seit mindestens 10 Jahren in einem Unternehmen arbeitet, das regelmäßig mehr als 50 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt, für einen Sicherheits- oder Risikoarbeitsplatz als untauglich eingestuft, muss er einen Arbeitsplatz zugeteilt bekommen, für den er als tauglich angesehen wird. Personen, die wegen Untauglichkeit umgesetzt werden, sind im Hinblick auf die in Artikel 5 des geänderten Gesetzes vom 12. November 1991 über behinderte Arbeitnehmer vorgesehene Verpflichtung behinderten Arbeitnehmern gleichgestellt.