Home > Legislation > Maternity protection

Maternity protection

Law of 1 August 2001 on the protection of pregnant workers, workers after childbirth and breastfeeding mothers

Chapter 1: Scope of application and definitions

The law applies to all women, without distinction as to age or nationality, married or unmarried, who are linked by an employment or apprenticeship contract or employed as pupils or students during educational holidays.

Chapter 2: Maternity leave

A pregnant woman cannot be employed during the 8 weeks prior to the expected date of childbirth (date attested by a medical certificate). If the birth takes place after that date, the prohibition is extended until actual childbirth.
Post-natal leave covers the 8 weeks immediately following childbirth (date attested by a medical certificate). This period may be increased to 12 weeks in the case of a premature birth (before the end of the 37th week of pregnancy), multiple births or for breastfeeding mothers. 
The employer must retain the pregnant woman in his employ or in a similar post with equivalent remuneration. Maternity leave is included in the calculation of seniority rights. Maternity leave is treated as a period of employment and gives entitlement to annual recreational leave. Leave which is not taken before the beginning of the maternity leave is carried forward within the legal time limits.

Chapter 3: Night work

After consulting the occupational physician responsible, a pregnant or breastfeeding woman (until the child is one year old) cannot be required to work between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. The employee must apply for this dispensation by registered letter. The occupational physician must then be consulted within 8 days by the employer and he must deliver an opinion which will be notified within a fortnight of the date of referral.
The employer must transfer the employee to a daytime workplace without any reduction of her previous salary. If the transfer is impossible for technical or objective reasons, the employer, acting upon the opinion of the occupational physician, must grant a dispensation to the female employee for the entire period determined by the occupational physician.

Chapter 4: Agents, procedures and working conditions

The employer must notify to every woman employed in his business, the Joint Committee and if there is no such committee the Staff Delegation and/or the equal opportunities delegate if appointed, a list of tasks which pregnant or breastfeeding women cannot be required to perform.

In cooperation with the appropriate occupational physician, the employee is required, in the case of all activities which may present a risk, to assess the nature, degree and stipulate the duration of the exposure, so as to enable the risk to be assessed and determine the measures to be taken (see attached list).
If the results of the assessment reveal the existence of a risk, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must take the necessary measures by making provisional adjustments to the working conditions or working time. If such an adjustment is not possible for technical reasons, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must assign the employee to a different post without any reduction of her salary. If a change of assignment is impossible for technical reasons, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must grant a dispensation to the employee.

Chapter 5: Provisions common to Chapters 3 and 4

The opinions of the occupational physician may be the subject of an application for a review sent by registered letter by the employee or by the employer to the Directorate for Health, Occupational Health Division. An appeal may be made against the decision of the physician in charge of the division to the Arbitration Council for Social Insurance within 15 days of the date on which the opinion of the physician in charge of the division was delivered. The Chairman will then hand down a ruling within 15 days. An appeal may be made against the judgment of the Arbitration Council to the High Council for Social Insurance. A reply must be given within 15 days.

Chapter 6: Working hours

A pregnant or breastfeeding woman cannot be required to work overtime. A pregnant woman benefits from dispensation from work with no loss of remuneration to attend prenatal examinations. 
At her request, breastfeeding time, divided into two periods of 45 minutes each, must be granted (at the beginning and end of the normal working day). If the day is only interrupted by a break of not more than one hour, the two periods may be reduced to one breastfeeding time of at least 90 minutes. The breastfeeding time counts as working time.

Chapter 7: Prohibition of dismissal

The employer is not allowed to notify termination of the employment contract or issue an invitation to attend the preliminary interview to an employee when she is in a medically confirmed state of pregnancy and for up to 12 weeks after childbirth. In the event of notification of termination prior to such medical confirmation, the employee may, within eight days of receiving notice, provide evidence of her state of pregnancy by forwarding a medical certificate by registered letter.
However, in the event of a serious fault, the employer may decide to dismiss the employed woman immediately pending a final decision by the labour tribunal.
The provisions on redundancy do not prevent the expiry of a temporary contract. On the other hand, if the employee has been recruited on a permanent contract with a trial period, such trial period shall be suspended from the point at which the medical certificate is presented to the employer until maternity begins. The portion which remains to run will resume on the expiry of the period during which dismissal is prohibited.

Accueil > Législation > Protection de la maternité
Téléchargements

Protection de la maternité

Loi du 1er août 2001 concernant la protection des travailleuses enceintes, accouchées et allaitantes

Chapitre 1er : Champ d’applications et définitions

La loi s’applique à toutes les femmes, sans distinction d’âge ou de nationalité, mariées ou non qui sont liées par un contrat de travail ou d’apprentissage ou qui sont occupées en tant qu’élèves ou étudiantes pendant les vacances scolaires.

Chapitre 2 : Congé de maternité

La femme enceinte ne peut être occupée pendant les 8 semaines précédant la date présumée de l’accouchement (date attestée par certificat médical). Si l’accouchement a lieu après cette date, l’interdiction est prolongée jusqu’à l’accouchement.
Le congé post-natal couvre les 8 semaines qui suivent l’accouchement (date attestée par certificat médical). Cette durée peut être portée à 12 semaines pour accouchement prématuré (avant fin 37ème semaine de grossesse), multiples ou pour allaitement.
L’employeur est tenu de conserver à la femme enceinte son emploi ou un emploi similaire avec rémunération équivalente. Le congé de maternité est pris en compte pour le calcul des droits liés à l’ancienneté. Le congé de maternité est assimilé à une période de travail et donne droit au congé annuel de récréation. Le congé non pris avant le début du congé de maternité est reporté dans les délais légaux.

Chapitre 3 : Travail de nuit

Sur avis du médecin du travail compétent, la femme enceinte ou allaitante (jusqu’au 1 an de l’enfant) ne peut être tenue de travailler entre 10 heures du soir et 6 heures du matin.
Cette dispense doit être demandée par l’employée par lettre recommandée. Le médecin du travail doit alors être saisi dans les 8 jours par l’employeur et il doit rendre un avis notifié endéans la quinzaine à dater de la date de la saisine.
L’employeur doit transférer l’employée à un poste de travail de jour, en lui maintenant son salaire. Si le transfert est techniquement ou objectivement impossible, l’employeur sur avis du médecin du travail est obligé de dispenser la femme salariée pendant toute la période fixée par le médecin du travail.

Chapitre 4 : Agents, procédés et conditions de travail

L’employeur a obligation de communiquer à toute femme occupée dans son entreprise, au comité mixte et à défaut à la délégation du personnel et au/à la déléguée (é) à l’égalité, s’il en existe la liste des travaux auxquels les femmes enceintes ou allaitantes ne peuvent être tenues.

En collaboration avec le médecin du travail compétent, l’employeur est tenu pour toutes activités susceptibles de présenter un risque, d’évaluer la nature, le degré et de spécifier la durée de l’exposition afin de pouvoir : apprécier le risque et déterminer les mesures à prendre (cf. liste en annexe).
Si les résultats de l’évaluation révèlent un risque, l’employeur, sur avis conforme du médecin du travail compétent, est tenu de prendre les mesures nécessaires par un aménagement provisoire des conditions ou du temps de travail. Si un tel aménagement est techniquement impossible, l’employeur sur avis du médecin du travail compétent est tenu d’affecter la salariée à une autre affectation avec maintien du salaire. Si le changement d’affectation est techniquement impossible, l’employeur sur avis du médecin du travail compétent est tenu de dispenser la salariée.

Chapitre 5 : Dispositions communes aux chapitres 3 et 4

Les avis du médecin du travail sont susceptibles d’une demande en réexamen par lettre recommandée tant de la part de l’employée que de l’employeur auprès de la Direction de la Santé, Division de la santé au travail. Contre la décision du médecin chef de la division, il y a possibilité de faire un recours auprès du conseil arbitral des assurances sociales, endéans les 15 jours, suite à l’avis du médecin-chef de division.Le président statue endéans les 15 jours. Il est possible de faire appel du jugement du conseil arbitral 

Chapitre 6 : Durée de travail

La femme enceinte ou allaitante ne peut être tenue de prester des heures supplémentaires
La femme enceinte bénéficie d’une dispense de travail, sans perte de rémunération, pour se rendre aux examens prénataux.
À sa demande, il doit être accordé un temps d’allaitement réparti sur 2 périodes de 45 minutes chacune (début et fin d’horaire journalier normal). Si la journée n’est interrompue que par une pause de maximum 1 heure, les 2 périodes peuvent être ramenées à 1 seul temps d’allaitement d’au moins 90 minutes. Le temps d’allaitement est compté en temps de travail.

Chapitre 7 Interdiction de licenciement

Il est interdit à l’employeur de notifier la rupture du contrat de travail ou la convocation à l’entretien préalable à une employée lorsqu’elle est en état de grossesse médicalement constatée et jusqu’à 12 semaines après l’accouchement. En cas de notification de rupture avant la constatation médicale, l’employée peut dans un délai de 8 jours à compter de la signification du congé justifier de son état de grossesse par production par lettre recommandée d’un certificat médical.
Toutefois en cas de faute grave. L’employeur a la possibilité de prononcer la mise à pied immédiate de la femme salariée en attendant la décision définitive de la juridiction du travail. 
Les dispositions relatives au licenciement ne font pas obstacle à l’échéance d’un contrat à durée déterminée. Par contre si l’employée est liée par un CDI avec une clause d’essai, la période d’essai est suspendue à partir du jour de la remise à l’employeur du certificat médical jusqu’au début du congé de maternité ; la fraction restant à courir reprend son cours à la fin de la période d’interdiction de licenciement.