Home > Legislation > Maternity protection

Maternity protection

Law of 1 August 2001 on the protection of pregnant workers, workers after childbirth and breastfeeding mothers

Chapter 1: Scope of application and definitions

The law applies to all women, without distinction as to age or nationality, married or unmarried, who are linked by an employment or apprenticeship contract or employed as pupils or students during educational holidays.

Chapter 2: Maternity leave

A pregnant woman cannot be employed during the 8 weeks prior to the expected date of childbirth (date attested by a medical certificate). If the birth takes place after that date, the prohibition is extended until actual childbirth.
Post-natal leave covers the 8 weeks immediately following childbirth (date attested by a medical certificate). This period may be increased to 12 weeks in the case of a premature birth (before the end of the 37th week of pregnancy), multiple births or for breastfeeding mothers. 
The employer must retain the pregnant woman in his employ or in a similar post with equivalent remuneration. Maternity leave is included in the calculation of seniority rights. Maternity leave is treated as a period of employment and gives entitlement to annual recreational leave. Leave which is not taken before the beginning of the maternity leave is carried forward within the legal time limits.

Chapter 3: Night work

After consulting the occupational physician responsible, a pregnant or breastfeeding woman (until the child is one year old) cannot be required to work between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. The employee must apply for this dispensation by registered letter. The occupational physician must then be consulted within 8 days by the employer and he must deliver an opinion which will be notified within a fortnight of the date of referral.
The employer must transfer the employee to a daytime workplace without any reduction of her previous salary. If the transfer is impossible for technical or objective reasons, the employer, acting upon the opinion of the occupational physician, must grant a dispensation to the female employee for the entire period determined by the occupational physician.

Chapter 4: Agents, procedures and working conditions

The employer must notify to every woman employed in his business, the Joint Committee and if there is no such committee the Staff Delegation and/or the equal opportunities delegate if appointed, a list of tasks which pregnant or breastfeeding women cannot be required to perform.

In cooperation with the appropriate occupational physician, the employee is required, in the case of all activities which may present a risk, to assess the nature, degree and stipulate the duration of the exposure, so as to enable the risk to be assessed and determine the measures to be taken (see attached list).
If the results of the assessment reveal the existence of a risk, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must take the necessary measures by making provisional adjustments to the working conditions or working time. If such an adjustment is not possible for technical reasons, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must assign the employee to a different post without any reduction of her salary. If a change of assignment is impossible for technical reasons, the employer, acting on the opinion of the occupational physician responsible, must grant a dispensation to the employee.

Chapter 5: Provisions common to Chapters 3 and 4

The opinions of the occupational physician may be the subject of an application for a review sent by registered letter by the employee or by the employer to the Directorate for Health, Occupational Health Division. An appeal may be made against the decision of the physician in charge of the division to the Arbitration Council for Social Insurance within 15 days of the date on which the opinion of the physician in charge of the division was delivered. The Chairman will then hand down a ruling within 15 days. An appeal may be made against the judgment of the Arbitration Council to the High Council for Social Insurance. A reply must be given within 15 days.

Chapter 6: Working hours

A pregnant or breastfeeding woman cannot be required to work overtime. A pregnant woman benefits from dispensation from work with no loss of remuneration to attend prenatal examinations. 
At her request, breastfeeding time, divided into two periods of 45 minutes each, must be granted (at the beginning and end of the normal working day). If the day is only interrupted by a break of not more than one hour, the two periods may be reduced to one breastfeeding time of at least 90 minutes. The breastfeeding time counts as working time.

Chapter 7: Prohibition of dismissal

The employer is not allowed to notify termination of the employment contract or issue an invitation to attend the preliminary interview to an employee when she is in a medically confirmed state of pregnancy and for up to 12 weeks after childbirth. In the event of notification of termination prior to such medical confirmation, the employee may, within eight days of receiving notice, provide evidence of her state of pregnancy by forwarding a medical certificate by registered letter.
However, in the event of a serious fault, the employer may decide to dismiss the employed woman immediately pending a final decision by the labour tribunal.
The provisions on redundancy do not prevent the expiry of a temporary contract. On the other hand, if the employee has been recruited on a permanent contract with a trial period, such trial period shall be suspended from the point at which the medical certificate is presented to the employer until maternity begins. The portion which remains to run will resume on the expiry of the period during which dismissal is prohibited.

Accueil > Gesetzgebung > Mutterschutz
Downloads

Mutterschutz

Gesetz vom 1. August 2001 über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmerinnen während der Schwangerschaft, nach der Geburt und während der Stillzeit

Kapitel 1: Anwendungsbereich und Definitione

Das Gesetz findet auf alle Frauen Anwendung, unabhängig von ihrem Alter oder ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit sowie davon, ob sie verheiratet sind oder nicht, die durch einen Arbeits- oder Lehrvertrag gebunden sind oder als Schülerinnen und Studentinnen während der Schulferien beschäftigt sind.

Kapitel 2: Mutterschaftsurlaub

Die schwangere Frau darf während der 8 Wochen vor dem voraussichtlichen Datum der Niederkunft nicht beschäftigt werden (Datum ärztlich bescheinigt). Falls die Niederkunft nach diesem Datum erfolgt, wird das Verbot bis zur Niederkunft verlängert.
Der nachgeburtliche Urlaub erstreckt sich auf die 8 Wochen nach der Niederkunft (Datum ärztlich bescheinigt). Dieser Zeitraum kann bis auf 12 Wochen ausgedehnt werden im Falle einer vorzeitigen Niederkunft (vor der 37. Schwangerschaftswoche) oder Mehrfachgeburt und ebenso, wenn die Mutter ihr Kind stillt.
Der Arbeitgeber ist verpflichtet, der schwangeren Frau ihre Beschäftigung oder eine vergleichbare Beschäftigung mit gleichwertiger Vergütung zu erhalten. Der Mutterschaftsurlaub wird bei der Berechnung der mit der Dauer der Betriebszugehörigkeit verbundenen Rechte berücksichtigt. Der Mutterschaftsurlaub ist der tatsächlichen Arbeitszeit gleichgestellt und verleiht Anspruch auf den jährlichen Erholungsurlaub. Nicht vor dem Beginn des Mutterschaftsurlaubs in Anspruch genommene Urlaubstage werden im Rahmen der gesetzlich festgelegten Fristen verschoben.

Kapitel 3: Nachtarbeit

Nach Stellungnahme des zuständigen Arbeitsmediziners darf die schwangere oder stillende Frau (bis zum 1. Geburtstag des Kindes) nicht dazu angehalten werden, zwischen 10 Uhr abends und 6 Uhr morgens zu arbeiten.
Diese Freistellung ist von der Arbeitnehmerin per Einschreiben zu beantragen. Der Arbeitsmediziner muss dann innerhalb von 8 Tagen vom Arbeitgeber befasst werden und innerhalb von fünfzehn Tagen eine Stellungnahme abgeben.
Der Arbeitgeber ist gehalten, der Arbeitnehmerin eine Tagesarbeitsstelle unter Beibehaltung ihres vorherigen Gehalts zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wenn ein Wechsel in eine Tagesstelle technisch und/oder objektiv nicht möglich ist, muss der Arbeitgeber entsprechend der Stellungnahme des Arbeitsmediziners die Arbeitnehmerin während des gesamten vom Arbeitsmediziner festgelegten Zeitraums von der Arbeit freistellen.

Kapitel 4: Arbeitsstoffe, Arbeitsverfahren und Arbeitsbedingungen

Der Arbeitgeber hat die Pflicht, jeder Frau, die in seinem Unternehmen beschäftigt ist, dem Betriebsrat, sofern vorhanden, und der Personalvertretung und dem/der mit der Gleichstellung beauftragten Arbeitnehmer/in, sofern vorhanden, die Liste der Arbeiten, zu welchen schwangere oder stillende Frauen nicht angehalten werden dürfen, mitzuteilen.

Der Arbeitgeber ist gehalten, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem zuständigen Arbeitsmediziner für alle Tätigkeiten, die eine Gefährdung darstellen könnten, die Art, den Umfang und die Dauer der Gefahraussetzung zu bewerten, um das Risiko einschätzen und die zu ergreifenden Maßnahmen festlegen zu können (s. Liste im Anhang des Gesetzestextes).

Falls aus dieser Bewertung hervorgeht, dass eine Gefährdung besteht, muss der Arbeitgeber, auf entsprechende Stellungnahme des Arbeitsmediziners, die erforderlichen Maßnahmen durch eine vorübergehende Umgestaltung der Arbeitsbedingungen oder Arbeitszeiten ergreifen. Sollte sich diese Umgestaltung als technisch unmöglich erweisen, ist der Arbeitgeber gehalten, auf Stellungnahme des zuständigen Arbeitsmediziners, der Arbeitnehmerin unter Beibehaltung ihres Gehalts eine andere Arbeitsstelle zuzuweisen. Ist dies technisch unmöglich, muss der Arbeitgeber, auf Stellungnahme des zuständigen Arbeitsmediziners, die Arbeitnehmerin von der Arbeit freistellen.

Kapitel 5: Gemeinsame Bestimmungen für die Kapitel 3 und 4

Gegen die Stellungnahmen des Arbeitsmediziners kann sowohl die Arbeitnehmerin als auch der Arbeitgeber per Einschreiben an die Gesundheitsdirektion, Abteilung Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz, einen Antrag auf Nachuntersuchung stellen. Gegen die Entscheidung des Chefarztes der Abteilung Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz kann vor dem Schiedsausschuss der Sozialversicherung innerhalb von 15 Tagen ab der Bekanntgabe der Entscheidung Widerspruch eingelegt werden. Der Vorsitzende entscheidet innerhalb von 15 Tagen. Gegen das Urteil des Schiedsausschusses kann vor dem Obersten Sozialversicherungsausschuss Berufung eingelegt werden. Die Antwort erfolgt innerhalb von 15 Tagen.

Kapitel 6: Arbeitsdauer

Die schwangere oder stillende Frau kann nicht angehalten werden, Überstunden zu leisten.
Die schwangere Frau wird von der Arbeit befreit, ohne Gehaltseinbuße, um sich zu den vorgeburtlichen Untersuchungen zu begeben.
Frauen, die ihr Kind stillen, haben auf Antrag ein Anrecht auf eine Zeit zum Stillen, welche in zwei Zeitabschnitte von jeweils 45 Minuten eingeteilt ist, und welche jeweils am Anfang und Ende ihres normalen täglichen Arbeitszeitplans liegen. Wenn der Tag nur von einer Pause von weniger als einer Stunde unterbrochen wird, können beide Zeitabschnitte auf eine einzige Stillzeit von mindestens 90 Minuten zurückgeführt werden. Die Stillzeit gilt als Arbeitszeit.

Kapitel 7: Kündigungsverbot

Dem Arbeitgeber ist es während der ärztlich festgestellten Schwangerschaft und bis zum Ablauf von zwölf Wochen nach der Geburt untersagt, der Arbeitnehmerin die Kündigung ihres Arbeitsvertrags mitzuteilen oder sie zu einem entsprechenden Vorgespräch vorzuladen. Erfolgt die Kündigung vor der ärztlichen Feststellung der Schwangerschaft, kann die Arbeitnehmerin innerhalb von acht Tagen nach der Kündigung die Schwangerschaft mittels eines per Einschreiben zugesandten ärztlichen Attestes nachweisen.
Im Falle eines schwerwiegenden Fehlers hat der Arbeitgeber jedoch die Möglichkeit, die sofortige Suspendierung des Arbeitsvertrages der Arbeitnehmerin in Erwartung der endgültigen Entscheidung des Arbeitsgerichtes auszusprechen.
Das Kündigungsverbot steht einer Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrages durch Fristablauf nicht entgegen. Hat die Arbeitnehmerin jedoch einen unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag mit Probezeit geschlossen, wird die Probezeit ab dem Tag der Abgabe des ärztlichen Attestes über die Schwangerschaft an den Arbeitgeber bis zum Beginn des Mutterschaftsurlaubes unterbrochen. Der noch verbleibende Teil der Probezeit lebt mit Ablauf des Kündigungsschutzzeitraumes wieder auf.