Home > Health checkups > Cardio-vascular risk factors

Prevention of cardiovascular diseases

One of the most important features of the ASTF checkup relates to the prevention of cardiovascular diseases. The risk factors for a cardiovascular disease are determined and discussed during the consultation.
Since 1948, the National Heart Institute has been following a population of some 5,000 persons in the town of Framingham to determine the causal factors of cardiovascular illnesses which have been largely unknown up to now. The study is now in its 3rd generation and has enabled the following risk factors to be defined:
Two groups of risk factor can be identified. The classical cardiovascular risk factors are those whose predictive value has been largely proven:

  • Age and gender
  • Family history
  • Tobacco use
  • High blood pressure
  • Dyslipaemia
  • Diabetes
  • Obesity
  • Sedentary lifestyle
  • Nutritional factors

There are other risk factors which are currently being validated and are not yet being used on a large scale such as homocystein and CRP. That list is by no means exhaustive … but we cannot discuss all these factors here.

Age and gender

Obviously the cardiovascular risk increases with age. Before the age of 50 men are distinctly more exposed than women. The risk level in women gradually rises until it becomes the same as that for men a few years after the menopause.

Family history

Only cardiovascular accidents which occurred in parents of the first degree, i.e. the father before the age of 55 and the mother before 65 are taken into consideration.

Tobacco use

The risk of coronary disease in smokers is three times greater than in the case of non-smokers. They are particularly exposed to the risk of heart attacks and sudden death.

High blood pressure

The risk is regarded as negligible when the blood pressure is below 130/85 mm Hg.

Dyslipidaemia

LDL-cholesterol

This is the main form by which cholesterol is conveyed in the organism. It must be kept as low as possible. The target value to be reached varies, however, depending on the number of other risk factors which are present.

HDL-cholestero

This is involved in the “reverse” transport of cholesterol enabling it to be recaptured and conveyed towards the paths of elimination. Its increase is protective and its threshold level must be at least 40 mg/100 ml.

Diabetes

The presence of diabetes multiplies the risk of cardiovascular disease by three in women and by two in men. It is vital in this case to check blood pressure, blood lipids and weight and to take regular physical activity.

Obesity

The degree by which the person is overweight is assessed overall by the body mass index:

  • BMI 20-25 = > normal weight
  • BMI 25 – 30 = > overweight
  • BMI 30 – 40 = > obesity
  • BMI > 40 = > morbid obesity

Above a BMI of 25, the risk of coronary heart disease increases, partly, however, because of the impact of the weight burden on the other risk factors such as hypertension, diabetes and dyslipaemia.
The distribution of body fat also has a significant impact on the cardiovascular risk. It is increased above all by abdominal adiposity. An abdominal girth of > 102 cm in men and > 88 cm in women must therefore be regarded as significant.

Stress

In the “Interheart” study a relationship between professional, family and financial stress and infarct has been clearly shown. The percentage of cases of infarct for which stress is responsible seems to be in the order of 37%. This places it in the same ranking as tobacco use, diabetes, obesity or hypertension in the prevention of cardiovascular diseases.

Nutritional factors

The general nutritional recommendations for the prevention of cardiovascular illnesses are set out below:

  • Greatly reduced consumption of saturated fats of dairy origin (butter, cream, cheese) or of meat and charcuterie products.
  • Regular consumption of fish and poultry.
  • Daily consumption of cereals, fruit and vegetables.
  • Regular use of polyunsaturated fats, such as olive oil or walnut oil.
  • In the event of hypertension, reduce your weight, limit alcohol consumption and salt use, increase the input of calcium and potassium.

Sedentary lifestyle 

Physical exercise plays an important role in the prevention of cardiovascular disorders. The more intensive the training, the more effective it will be in terms of prevention of mortality and morbidity. However, walking at a sustained pace for half an hour a day is 
already sufficient to have a positive influence on the cardiovascular risk. What is important is that it must be endurance training, i.e. with an aerobic character.
An active daily life must be added to these recommendations: walk, use the stairs, work in the garden, perform do-it-yourself activities etc.
Persons above the age of forty who begin systematic training must first undergo an effort test with a cardiologist.

Accueil > Bilans de santé > Les facteurs de risque cardio-vasculaire

Prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires

Un des volets les plus importants des check-up de l’ASTF porte sur la prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires. Les facteurs de risque pour une maladie cardio-vasculaire sont déterminés et discutés lors de la consultation.
Depuis 1948 le “National Heart Institute” suit une population de quelques 5000 personnes dans la ville de Framingham afin de déterminer les facteurs causaux des maladies cardio-vasculaires, facteurs jusque là largement inconnus. Depuis. l’étude se trouve dans la troisième génération et a permis de définir les facteurs de risque suivants : :
On distingue deux groupes de facteurs de risque. Les facteurs de risque cardio-vasculaire classiques sont ceux dont la valeur prédictive est largement prouvé :

  • l’âge et le sexe
  • les antécédents familiaux
  • le tabagisme
  • l’hypertension artérielle
  • les dyslipidémies
  • le diabète
  • l’obésité
  • la sédentarité
  • les facteurs nutritionnels.

A côté de cela, il existe des facteurs de risque en cours de validation qui ne sont pas encore utilisés à grande échelle comme p.ex. l’homocystéine ou la CRP. Et la liste est loin d’être close…Ils ne seront pas discutés à cet endroit.

L’âge et le sexe

Le risque cardio-vasculaire augmente évidemment avec l’âge. Avant 50 ans, l’homme est nettement plus exposé que la femme : le niveau de risque de la femme rejoint très progressivement celui de l’homme plusieurs années après la ménopause.

Les antécédents familiaux

Ne sont pris en considération comme facteur de risque que les accidents cardio-vasculaires précoces survenus chez un parent du premier degré càd. chez le père avant 55 ans et chez la mère avant 65 ans.

Le tabagisme

Le risque de maladie coronarienne chez le fumeur est multiplié par trois par rapport au non-fumeur. Il est particulièrement exposé au risque d’infarctus du myocarde et de mort subite.

L’hypertension artérielle

On admet que le risque est négligeable pour une tension artérielle en-dessous de 130/85 mm Hg.

Les dyslipidémies

Le LDL-cholestérol

Il s’agit de la forme principale de transport du cholestérol dans l’organisme. Il convient de le maintenir le plus bas possible. La valeur-cible à atteindre varie toutefois avec la présence d’autres facteurs de risques.

Le HDL-cholestérol

Il est impliqué dans le transport “reverse” du cholestérol permettant son recaptage et son transport vers les voies d’élimination. Son augmentation est protectrice et il faut que son seuil soit de au-moins 40 mg/100 ml.

Le diabète

La présence d’un diabète multiplie par 3 le risque cardio-vasculaire chez la femme et par deux chez l’homme. Il est primordial dans ce cas de contrôler la tension artérielle, les lipides sanguins, le poids et de pratiquer une activité physique régulière.

L’obésité

La surcharge pondérale est appréciée de façon globale par l’indice de masse corporelle :

  • IMC 20-25=>poids normal
  • IMC 25-30=>surcharge
  • IMC 30-40=>obésité
  • IMC >40=>obésité morbide

A partir d’un IMC de 25 le risque coronarien augmente, en partie cependant à cause de l’impact de la surcharge pondérale sur les autres facteurs de risque tels que l’hypertension, le diabète et les dyslipidémies.
La répartition des graisses a aussi un impact important sur le risque cardio-vasculaire : il est surtout majoré par une adiposité abdominale. Ainsi sont à considérer comme significatif un périmètre abdominal > 102 cm chez l’homme et >88 cm chez la femme.

Le stress

Dans l’étude "interheart" le lien entre stress familial, professionnel ou financier et infarctus du myocarde a pu être clairement prouvé. D’après cette étude, le facteur stress serait responsable de 37% des infarctus. Ceci lui confère le même degré d’importance dans la prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires que le tabac, le diabète, l’obésité et l’hypertension artérielle.

Nutritional factors

Les modalités nutritionnelles générales de prévention cardio-vasculaire regroupent les recommandations suivantes :

  • réduire fortement la consommation de graisses saturées provenant d’origine laitière (beurre, crème, fromage) ou de viandes et charcuteries
  • consommer régulièrement poisson et volaille
  • consommer quotidiennement céréales, fruits et légumes
  • consommer régulièrement des graisses poly-insaturées telles que l’huile d’olive ou l’huile de noix
  • en cas d’hypertension réduire le poids, limiter l’alcool et le sel, majorer les apports en calcium et potassium.

La sédentarité

L’exercice physique joue un rôle important dans la prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaire. Plus l’entraînement est intensif plus il est efficace en terme de prévention de mortalité et de morbidité. Cependant une marche à pied à un rythme soutenu à raison d’une demi-heure par jour suffit déjà pour influencer positivement le risque cardio-vasculaire. Ce qui est important c’est qu’il s’agisse d’un entraînement d’endurance càd à caractère aérobie.
Une vie active au quotidien s’ajoute à ces rrecommandations : marcher, prendre les escaliers, jardiner, bricoler etc
Les personnes au-delà de la quarantaine qui commencent un entraînement systématique doivent se soumettre au préalable à un test à l’effort chez le cardiologue.