Home > Health checkups > Diabetes

Early detection of diabetes

If Type I diabetes, long referred to as “juvenile”, has genetic and auto-immune origins, that is not the case with Type II or “fatty” diabetes, which certainly does have a genetic predisposition but is more often occasioned by what can be turned to an unhealthy lifestyle. 
Type II diabetes develops gradually, often in persons who are obese and have a sedentary lifestyle.

This is the most frequent of the two types of diabetes and its prevalence is increasing constantly. The WHO estimates that in 2010 there will be 250 million diabetics worldwide, against just 110 million in 1994. In Luxembourg there are between 15,000 and 20,000 known diabetics and it is estimated that a similar number have not yet been diagnosed.

Early detection is therefore vital, especially as, when the diagnosis is made, patients often already have complications; this means that the diabetes has been evolving for several years without being recognised and consequently without treatment.
90% of diabetics are overweight or frankly obese. In most cases, they also have a sedentary lifestyle.

Good food hygiene and regular physical activity are therefore the best way of preventing Type II diabetes, especially when cases have already occurred in immediate members of family.
When the checkup is performed, your personal risk will be determined and you will benefit from personalised advice about prevention.

Accueil > Bilans de santé > Le diabète

Dépistage précoce du diabète

Si le diabète type I, longtemps appelé “juvénile” a des origines génétiques et auto-immunes, il n’en est rien du diabète type II, ou “gras”, qui a certe une prédisposition génétique, mais qui est le plus souvent déclenché par un mode de vie qualifiable de “malsain”.
Le diabète type II s’installe progressivement, souvent dans un contexte d’obésité et de sédentarité.

Il est le plus fréquent des deux types de diabète et sa prévalence est en augmentation constante. L’OMS estime qu’en 2010 il y aura de par le monde 250 millions de diabétiques alors qu’ils n’étaient que 110 millions en 1994. Au Luxembourg il y a entre 15 000 et 20 000 diabétiques connus et on estime qu’il y en a autant qui ne sont pas encore diagnostiqués.

Il est donc primordial de faire un dépistage précoce, d’autant plus que, bien souvent au moment du diagnostic, les patients présentent déjà des complications, ce qui veut dire que le diabète a évolué depuis plusieurs années sans être reconnu et par conséquent sans traitement.
90% des diabétiques présentent une surcharge pondérale ou sont carrément obèses. La plupart du temps ils sont également sédentaires.

Une bonne hygiène alimentaire et une activité physique régulière deviennent dès lors la meilleure prévention du diabète type II, surtout lorsqu’on a déjà des cas dans la famille proche.
Lors du check-up votre risque personnel sera déterminé et vous bénéficierez de conseils personnalisés pour la prévention.