Home > Legislation > Young workers

Young workers

Law of 23 March 2001 on the protection of young workers

Chapter 1: Scope of application

This law applies to:

  • “young” persons: all persons under the age of 18 who have an employment contract and are pursuing a gainful occupation on the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, trainees, apprentices, young unemployed persons benefiting from a temporary auxiliary contract, pupils and students employed during the educational holidays;
  • “child”: young persons under the age of 15 still in compulsory education;
  • “adolescent”: young persons between the ages of 15 and 18 who are no longer covered by the compulsory education requirement.

Articles 12, 13, sub-sections 8 and 14, likewise apply to young people up to the age of 21.
The conditions applicable to the employment of young persons in domestic service, agriculture and wine growing may be stipulated in a Grand Ducal regulation.

Chapter 2: Employment of children

The employment of children to perform work of any kind whatsoever is prohibited.
The participation of children for gainful purposes or in a professional manner in audiovisual or cultural, artistic, sports and advertising activities and in the field of fashion is prohibited. This ban does not apply to the participation of a child without remuneration in such activities as a member of a sports, cultural or artistic association or within the framework of the work of an association.

Chapter 3: General obligations of the employer

The employer must take the measures necessary to protect the safety and health of young people. These measures are put in place on the basis of a risk assessment made before the young persons take up their duties and whenever any substantial change to the working conditions is made. If the assessment reveals the existence of a risk to the safety, health or physical, psychological, mental, moral or social development of the young people, an assessment and monitoring of their health will be performed without charge and on an adequate scale at regular intervals by the appropriate occupational health service.
Before signing the employment, apprenticeship or internship contract or before duties are taken up, the employer will inform the “young” worker in writing of any risks and of all measures taken with a view to the protection of health and safety.

Pupils and students working during the educational holidays must undergo the recruitment examination if the post which they are to occupy involves a risk of occupational illness or raises safety considerations.

Chapter 4: Vulnerability of young persons - Prohibition of employment

Young persons must not be employed to perform tasks which expose them to specific risks to their safety, health, physical, psychological, spiritual, moral or social development or which are liable to jeopardize their education or occupational training because of a lack of experience or a lack of awareness of existing or virtual risks.
In particular, work (see attached list) is prohibited which

  • places excessive demands on their physical and mental capacities;
  • exposes them to toxic or carcinogenic agents or radiation;
  • exposes them to extreme temperatures (low or high);
  • exposes them to noise and vibrations;
  • causes harmful exposure to physical, biological and chemical agents.

Piece work, production line work or any other system enabling higher remuneration to be obtained by working at a faster pace is prohibited for adolescents.

Chapter 5: Work by adolescents

Safety and health at work

Specific instructions must be given to adolescents if, in the course of their professional training, they have to be familiarized with dangerous tasks.
An employer who employs one or more adolescents must keep a record showing all the personal particulars and work done by such adolescents. The medical examinations will be identical to those stipulated by the law of 17 June 1994 concerning the occupational health services.

Working hours

Working hours must not exceed 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week. Hours spent in school (sandwich courses) count as working hours and the employer must authorize adolescents to absent themselves from work to attend compulsory vocational education.
Overtime must not be worked, save by way of exception after the employer has made an application stating the reasons to the Director of the ITM.

Rest period and breaks

After a four hour period, adolescents must benefit from a paid break for rest of at least 30 minutes. During each seven day period, adolescents must benefit from regular rest on two consecutive days including, in principle, Sunday.

Work on Sundays and public holidays

Adolescents must not be employed on Sundays and public holidays. By derogation, the employer may be authorised exceptionally to ask adolescents to work on these days, in which case he must immediately inform the director of the ITM stating reasons. A period of one whole day’s compensatory time off must then be granted within the next twelve days. Work on Sunday is remunerated with a supplement of 100% and work on public holidays as on Sunday, plus the additional allowance for public holidays.

Night work

Adolescents must not be asked to work at night, i.e. for twelve consecutive hours necessarily including the period between 8 p.m. and 6 a.m. In the case of companies and services which operate continuously, work is permitted after 10 p.m. but remains prohibited between midnight and 4 a.m.
In the event of assignment to night work, a health assessment will be made at regular intervals by the occupational medicine service responsible.• 

Paid leave

Adolescents are entitled to paid leave of at least 25 working days unless a more favourable agreement exists. Leave must be granted to apprentices during the holiday periods which are granted in higher educational establishments.

Remuneration

The minimum rate of agreed salaries for adolescents under the age of 18 is stipulated for a post of equal value as a percentage of the remuneration of adult workers occupying the same post (80% from 17 to 18; 75% from 15 to 17).
The minimum social pay rates are guaranteed for workers aged 18 and above.

Accueil > Législation > Jeunes travailleurs

Jeunes travailleurs

Loi du 23 mars 2001 concernant la protection des jeunes travailleurs

Chapitre 1er : Champ d’application

La présente loi est applicable aux :

  • « jeunes » : toutes personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans accomplis ayant un contrat de travail et exerçant une occupation salariée sur le territoire du Grand- Duché de Luxembourg, les stagiaires, les apprentis, les jeunes chômeurs bénéficiant d’un contrat d’auxiliaire temporaire, les élèves et étudiants occupés pendant les vacances scolaires.
  • « enfant » : jeunes de moins de 15 ans soumis à l’obligation scolaire.
  • « adolescent » : jeunes entre 15 et 18 ans, qui ne sont plus soumis à l’obligation scolaire.

De plus les articles 12,13, sous-chapitre 8 et 14 sont applicables aux jeunes jusqu’à l’âge de 21 ans accomplis.
Les conditions applicables au travail des adolescents dans le service domestique, l’agriculture et la viticulture pourront être précisées par règlement grand-ducal.

Chapitre 2 : Travail des enfants

Il est interdit d’employer des enfants à des travaux d’une nature quelconque.
La participation des enfants à des fins lucratives ou à titre professionnel, dans des activités audiovisuelles ou de nature culturelle, artistique, sportive, publicitaire ainsi que dans le domaine de la mode est interdite. L’interdiction ne s’applique pas à la participation de l’enfant à titre non lucratif aux activités visées soit en tant que membre d’une association sportive, culturelle ou artistique, soit dans le cadre d’activités associatives.

Chapitre 3 : Obligations générales de l’employeur

L’employeur doit prendre les mesures nécessaires pour la protection de la sécurité et de la santé des jeunes. Ces mesures sont mises en place sur la base d’une évaluation des risques faite avant que les jeunes ne commencent leur travail ainsi que lors de toute modification importante des conditions de travail. Si l’évaluation révèle l’existence d’un risque pour la sécurité, la santé ou le développement physique, psychique, mental, moral ou social des jeunes, une évaluation et une surveillance de leur santé, gratuites et adéquates, seront assurées à des intervalles réguliers par le service de santé au travail compétent.
Avant la signature du contrat de travail, d’apprentissage ou de stage, ou avant l’entrée en service, l’employeur informe par écrit le « jeune » travailleur des risques éventuels et de toutes les mesures prises au niveau de la santé et de la sécurité.

Les élèves et étudiants travaillant pendant les vacances scolaires devront se présenter à la visite d’embauche si le poste qu’ils occuperont est un poste à risque de maladie professionnelle ou un poste de sécurité.

Chapitre 4 : Vulnérabilité des jeunes - Interdiction de travail

Il est interdit d’employer des jeunes à des travaux exposant à des risques spécifiques pour leur sécurité, leur santé, leur développement physique, psychique, spirituel, moral ou social ou de nature à compromettre leur éducation, leur formation professionnelle, du fait d’un manque d’expérience, de l’absence de conscience des risques existants ou virtuels.
Sont notamment interdits, les travaux (cf. liste en annexe) qui :

  • vont au-delà de leurs capacités physiques et psychiques
  • exposent à des agents toxiques, cancérigènes, à des radiations
  • exposent à des températures extrêmes (froid, chaud)
  • exposent au bruit, aux vibrations
  • entraînent une exposition nocive aux agents physiques, biologiques, chimiques

Le travail à la tâche, à la chaîne, ou tout autre système permettant d’obtenir une rémunération plus élevées moyennant l’accélération du rythme est interdit pour les adolescents.

Chapitre 5 : Travail des adolescents

Sécurité et Santé au travail

Des instructions spécifiques doivent être données aux adolescents si lors de leur formation professionnelle, ils doivent être initiés à des travaux dangereux
L’employeur occupant un ou plusieurs adolescents doit tenir un fichier avec toutes les données personnelles et liées au travail de ce(s) adolescent(s). Les examens médicaux sont conformes à ceux prévus par la loi du 17 juin 1994 concernant les services de santé au travail

Durée du travail

La durée de travail ne doit pas dépasser 8 heures/jour et 40 heures/semaine. Les heures passées à l’école (formation en alternance) sont comptées comme heures de travail et l’employeur doit autoriser les adolescents à s’abstenir du travail pour suivre l’enseignement professionnel obligatoire. 
La prestation d’heures supplémentaires est interdite, sauf exceptionnellement après demande de l’employeur avec justifications auprès du Directeur de l’ITM.

Période de repos et temps de pause

Après une durée de 4 heures, les adolescents bénéficient d’un temps de repos rémunérés d’au moins 30 minutes. Au cours de chaque période de 7 jours, les adolescents bénéficient d’un repos périodique de 2 jours consécutifs incluant en principe le dimanche.

Travail pendant les dimanches et jours fériés légaux

Les adolescents ne peuvent être employés durant les dimanches et jours fériés légaux. Par dérogation, l’employeur est exceptionnellement autorisé à faire travailler les adolescents durant ces jours en informant sans délai le directeur de l’ITM et en lui précisant les motifs. Dans la période de 12 jours suivants, une journée de repos compensatoire entière doit être accordée. Le travail du dimanche est rémunéré avec un supplément de 100%, celui des jours fériés légaux comme le dimanche avec en plus l’indemnité pour jours fériés légaux.

Travail de nuit

Les adolescents ne peuvent être occupés pendant la nuit c’est-à-dire pendant une période de 12 heures consécutives comprenant nécessairement la période 20h00-6h00. Pour les entreprises et service à marche continue, le travail est autorisé jusque 22h00 mais toujours interdit dans la plage minuit-4 heures.
En cas d’affectation à un travail de nuit, une évaluation de la santé est faite à intervalles réguliers par le service de médecine du travail compétent.

Congés payés

Les adolescents ont droit à un congé annuel payé de 25 jours ouvrables au minimum sauf convention plus favorable. Le congé des apprentis doit être accordé pendant les vacances de l’enseignement supérieur.

Rémunérations

Le taux minimum des salaires conventionnels des adolescents âgés de moins de 18 ans accomplis est fixé pour un travail de valeur égale, en % de la rémunération des travailleurs adultes au même poste (80% de 17 à 18 ans, ; 75% de 15 à 17 ans).
Les taux du salaire social minimum sont garantis aux travailleurs âgés de 18 ans accomplis.