Home > Legislation > Young workers

Young workers

Law of 23 March 2001 on the protection of young workers

Chapter 1: Scope of application

This law applies to:

  • “young” persons: all persons under the age of 18 who have an employment contract and are pursuing a gainful occupation on the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, trainees, apprentices, young unemployed persons benefiting from a temporary auxiliary contract, pupils and students employed during the educational holidays;
  • “child”: young persons under the age of 15 still in compulsory education;
  • “adolescent”: young persons between the ages of 15 and 18 who are no longer covered by the compulsory education requirement.

Articles 12, 13, sub-sections 8 and 14, likewise apply to young people up to the age of 21.
The conditions applicable to the employment of young persons in domestic service, agriculture and wine growing may be stipulated in a Grand Ducal regulation.

Chapter 2: Employment of children

The employment of children to perform work of any kind whatsoever is prohibited.
The participation of children for gainful purposes or in a professional manner in audiovisual or cultural, artistic, sports and advertising activities and in the field of fashion is prohibited. This ban does not apply to the participation of a child without remuneration in such activities as a member of a sports, cultural or artistic association or within the framework of the work of an association.

Chapter 3: General obligations of the employer

The employer must take the measures necessary to protect the safety and health of young people. These measures are put in place on the basis of a risk assessment made before the young persons take up their duties and whenever any substantial change to the working conditions is made. If the assessment reveals the existence of a risk to the safety, health or physical, psychological, mental, moral or social development of the young people, an assessment and monitoring of their health will be performed without charge and on an adequate scale at regular intervals by the appropriate occupational health service.
Before signing the employment, apprenticeship or internship contract or before duties are taken up, the employer will inform the “young” worker in writing of any risks and of all measures taken with a view to the protection of health and safety.

Pupils and students working during the educational holidays must undergo the recruitment examination if the post which they are to occupy involves a risk of occupational illness or raises safety considerations.

Chapter 4: Vulnerability of young persons - Prohibition of employment

Young persons must not be employed to perform tasks which expose them to specific risks to their safety, health, physical, psychological, spiritual, moral or social development or which are liable to jeopardize their education or occupational training because of a lack of experience or a lack of awareness of existing or virtual risks.
In particular, work (see attached list) is prohibited which

  • places excessive demands on their physical and mental capacities;
  • exposes them to toxic or carcinogenic agents or radiation;
  • exposes them to extreme temperatures (low or high);
  • exposes them to noise and vibrations;
  • causes harmful exposure to physical, biological and chemical agents.

Piece work, production line work or any other system enabling higher remuneration to be obtained by working at a faster pace is prohibited for adolescents.

Chapter 5: Work by adolescents

Safety and health at work

Specific instructions must be given to adolescents if, in the course of their professional training, they have to be familiarized with dangerous tasks.
An employer who employs one or more adolescents must keep a record showing all the personal particulars and work done by such adolescents. The medical examinations will be identical to those stipulated by the law of 17 June 1994 concerning the occupational health services.

Working hours

Working hours must not exceed 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week. Hours spent in school (sandwich courses) count as working hours and the employer must authorize adolescents to absent themselves from work to attend compulsory vocational education.
Overtime must not be worked, save by way of exception after the employer has made an application stating the reasons to the Director of the ITM.

Rest period and breaks

After a four hour period, adolescents must benefit from a paid break for rest of at least 30 minutes. During each seven day period, adolescents must benefit from regular rest on two consecutive days including, in principle, Sunday.

Work on Sundays and public holidays

Adolescents must not be employed on Sundays and public holidays. By derogation, the employer may be authorised exceptionally to ask adolescents to work on these days, in which case he must immediately inform the director of the ITM stating reasons. A period of one whole day’s compensatory time off must then be granted within the next twelve days. Work on Sunday is remunerated with a supplement of 100% and work on public holidays as on Sunday, plus the additional allowance for public holidays.

Night work

Adolescents must not be asked to work at night, i.e. for twelve consecutive hours necessarily including the period between 8 p.m. and 6 a.m. In the case of companies and services which operate continuously, work is permitted after 10 p.m. but remains prohibited between midnight and 4 a.m.
In the event of assignment to night work, a health assessment will be made at regular intervals by the occupational medicine service responsible.• 

Paid leave

Adolescents are entitled to paid leave of at least 25 working days unless a more favourable agreement exists. Leave must be granted to apprentices during the holiday periods which are granted in higher educational establishments.

Remuneration

The minimum rate of agreed salaries for adolescents under the age of 18 is stipulated for a post of equal value as a percentage of the remuneration of adult workers occupying the same post (80% from 17 to 18; 75% from 15 to 17).
The minimum social pay rates are guaranteed for workers aged 18 and above.

Accueil > Gesetzgebung > Junge Arbeitnehmer

Junge Arbeitnehmer

Gesetz vom 23. März 2001 über den Schutz von jungen Arbeitnehmern

Kapitel 1: Anwendungsbereich

Dieses Gesetz findet Anwendung auf:

  • „junge“ Arbeitnehmer, d.h. alle Personen , die das 18. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben, die einen Arbeitsvertrag besitzen und einer bezahlten Beschäftigung auf dem Staatsgebiet des Großherzogtums Luxemburg nachgehen oder Praktikanten, Lehrlinge, junge Arbeitslose im Rahmen von Arbeitsbeschaffungsmaßnahmen, Schüler und Studenten, die während der Schulferien arbeiten;- 
  • "Kinder“, d.h. Jugendliche unter 15 Jahren, die noch schulpflichtig sind;
  • Jugendliche“, d.h. junge Leute zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren, die nicht mehr schulpflichtig sind. 

Darüber hinaus finden die Artikel 12,13, Unterkapitel 8 und 14 Anwendung auf Jugendliche bis zur Vollendung des 21. Lebensjahres.
Die Bedingungen, die für Jugendliche gelten, die im Hausdienst, in der Landwirtschaft und im Weinbau beschäftigt sind, können durch großherzogliche Verordnung präzisiert werden.

Kapitel 2: Kinderarbeit

Es ist verboten, Kinder für jede beliebige Art von Arbeit heranzuziehen.
Die Teilnahme von Kindern zu Erwerbs- oder beruflichen Zwecken an Aktivitäten im audiovisuellen, kulturellen, künstlerischen, sportlichen, Werbe- oder Modebereich ist untersagt. Dieses Verbot gilt nicht für die erwerbszweckfreie Mitwirkung des Kindes an den genannten Aktivitäten, sei es als Mitglied eines Sport-, kulturellen oder künstlerischen Vereins oder im Rahmen von Verbandsaktivitäten.

Kapitel 3: Allgemeine Pflichten des Arbeitgebers

Der Arbeitgeber muss die notwendigen Maßnahmen ergreifen, um die Sicherheit und den Gesundheitsschutz der Jugendlichen zu gewährleisten. Diese Maßnahmen werden getroffen auf der Grundlage einer Bewertung der Risiken, die vorgenommen werden muss, bevor die Jugendlichen ihre Arbeit aufnehmen sowie bei jeder größeren Veränderung der Arbeitsbedingungen. Sollte die Bewertung ergeben, dass eine Gefahr für die Sicherheit, die Gesundheit oder die körperliche, seelische, geistige oder soziale Entwicklung der Jugendlichen besteht, wird die zuständige Arbeitsmedizindienststelle in regelmäßigen Abständen eine kostenlose und angemessene Bewertung und Überwachung ihrer Gesundheit vornehmen. 
Vor der Unterzeichnung des Arbeits-, Lehr- oder Praktikumsvertrags oder vor der Aufnahme der Arbeit informiert der Arbeitgeber den „jungen“ Arbeitnehmer schriftlich über etwaige Risiken und alle in Bezug auf Sicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz getroffenen Maßnahmen.

Während der Schulferien arbeitende Schüler und Studenten müssen sich einer Einstellungsuntersuchung unterziehen, falls die Arbeitsstelle, an der sie eingesetzt werden, mit dem Risiko einer Berufskrankheit verbunden ist oder falls es sich um einen Sicherheitsarbeitsplatz handelt.

Kapitel 4: Verletzbarkeit der Jugendlichen - Arbeitsverbot

Es ist verboten, Jugendliche für Arbeiten heranzuziehen, die besondere Gefahren für ihre Sicherheit, ihre Gesundheit, ihre körperliche, seelische, geistige, sittliche oder soziale Entwicklung beinhalten oder die ihre Erziehung oder ihre Berufsausbildung aufgrund ihrer mangelnden Erfahrung oder ihres mangelnden Bewusstseins für vorhandene oder mögliche Risiken gefährden könnten.
Verboten sind insbesondere Arbeiten (s. Liste im Anhang des Gesetzestextes):

  • welche die physische oder psychische Leistungsfähigkeit der Jugendlichen übersteigen
  • bei denen sie giftigen oder krebserregenden Substanzen oder Strahlungen ausgesetzt sind
  • bei denen sie extremen Temperaturen (Kälte oder Wärme) ausgesetzt sind
  • bei denen sie Lärm oder Erschütterungen ausgesetzt sind
  • bei denen sie den schädlichen Einwirkungen von physikalischen, biologischen oder chemischen Arbeitsstoffen ausgesetzt sind.

Für Jugendliche untersagt ist Arbeit im Akkord, Arbeit am Fließband oder jedes andere System, das durch Erhöhung des Arbeitstempos eine höhere Bezahlung in Aussicht stellt.

Kapitel 5: Arbeit von Jugendlichen

Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz

Jugendliche müssen besondere Anweisungen erhalten, falls sie im Rahmen ihrer Berufsausbildung in gefährliche Arbeiten eingewiesen werden müssen.
Der Arbeitgeber, der einen oder mehrere Jugendliche beschäftigt, muss ein Verzeichnis mit allen persönlichen Angaben und allen Angaben in Bezug auf die Art der Beschäftigung führen. Die ärztlichen Untersuchungen entsprechen denjenigen, die im Gesetz vom 17. Juni 1994 über die arbeitsmedizinischen Dienste vorgesehen sind.

Arbeitsdauer

Die Arbeitsdauer darf 8 Stunden täglich und 40 Stunden wöchentlich nicht überschreiten. Die in der Schule verbrachten Stunden (alternierendes Ausbildungssystem) gelten als Arbeitsstunden und der Arbeitgeber muss die Jugendlichen von der Arbeit freistellen, damit sie den Pflichtberufsschuluntericht besuchen können.
Die Leistung von Überstunden ist untersagt, außer in Ausnahmefällen und nach begründeter Beantragung des Arbeitgebers beim Direktor der Gewerbeinspektion. 

Ruhezeiten und Pausen

Nach einer Arbeitszeit von 4 Stunden haben Jugendliche Anspruch auf eine entlohnte Ruhezeit von mindestens 30 Minuten. Nach jedem Zeitraum von 7 Tagen haben Jugendliche Anspruch auf eine Ruhezeit von 2 aufeinander folgenden Tagen, zu denen grundsätzlich der Sonntag zählt. 

Arbeit an Sonntagen und an gesetzlichen Feiertagen

Jugendliche dürfen nicht an Sonntagen und an gesetzlichen Feiertagen arbeiten. In Ausnahmefällen darf der Arbeitgeber Jugendliche an diesen Tagen arbeiten lassen, sofern er unverzüglich den Direktor der Gewerbeinspektion unter Angabe von Gründen davon in Kenntnis setzt. Dem Jugendlichen muss innerhalb von 12 Tagen nach diesem Sonntag oder Feiertag ein ganzer Ausgleichsruhetag gewährt werden. Sonntagsarbeit wird mit einem Zuschlag von 100 % entlohnt; Feiertagsarbeit wird wie Sonntagsarbeit zuzüglich zur Entschädigung für die am Feiertag geleistete Arbeitsstundenzahl entlohnt.

Nachtarbeit

Jugendliche dürfen nicht während der Nacht, d.h. während eines Zeitraums von 12 aufeinander folgenden Stunden in der Zeit zwischen 20:00 und 6:00 Uhr, beschäftigt werden. In kontinuierlich arbeitenden Betrieben und Dienststellen ist die Arbeit bis 22:00 Uhr gestattet, sie bleibt jedoch während der Zeit von Mitternacht bis 4 Uhr untersagt.
Falls der Jugendliche Nachtarbeit verrichtet, wird seine Gesundheit in regelmäßigen Abständen von dem zuständigen arbeitsmedizinischen Dienst untersucht.

Bezahlter Urlaub

Jugendliche haben Anspruch auf einen bezahlten Jahresurlaub von mindestens 25 Arbeitstagen, sofern nicht günstigere kollektivvertragliche Bestimmungen in Frage kommen. Der Urlaub der Lehrlinge muss mit den Berufsschulferien zusammenfallen.

Entgelt

Der Mindestsatz der kollektivvertraglichen Löhne von Jugendlichen unter 18 Jahren ist im Verhältnis zu gleichwertiger Arbeit eines Erwachsenen wie folgt festgesetzt (80 % von 17 bis18 Jahren; 75 % von 15 bis 17 Jahren).
Arbeitnehmer, die das 18. Lebensjahr vollendet haben, haben Anspruch auf den gesetzlichen Mindestlohn.